Home

Today I went to the v&a museum to take a look at their fashion part, the reason why I did this is because I had been a few times in the past and knew that they had a lot of different styles of clothes ranging from now to the 18th century. I wanted to see how fashion has changed the female form from over the years and how different ways of body manipulation has been used. For me I found that the visit was extremely useful and has helped to give me an better understanding of the different ways fashion has been used in the past to manipulate the female shape and how this manipulation Is still going on today.

Whilst I was at the V&A they had an exhibition on called “Wedding Dresses 1775-2014” although I didn’t know that the exhibition was on when I originally planned to go to the V&A I still thought that it would be a good idea to attend. Although I couldn’t take pictures when I was in there but this too was beneficial to me as I a lot of the garments that were part of the exhibition had some kind of body manipulation either through the use of a corset or oversized shoulders.

Now that I have gotten some more insight in just how much and the different ways in which body manipulation takes places within the fashion industry though the use of clothing and undergarments I feel like I can make the next step to help me come up with my final essay question.

385 387 388 390 391 395 397 398 399 405 406 407 408 409

Leave a Reply

